Welcome to the Bet Angel Professional Community
A place to discuss anything.
by pdupre1961 » Sun Nov 06, 2011 10:41 pm
Hi All,
I wrote to Betfair and asked them about commissions to third parties, and they said they didn't pay any.
However, I clicked on an arbitrage link to a Betfair market [url]http://sports.betfair.com/?rfr=666&mi=104280607&ex=1&origin=MRL[/url] which included a referral code (highlighted in blue).
Does anyone know if a commission can be earned by a third party who refers me to a market that I end up betting on.
Paul
-

pdupre1961
-
- Posts: 377
- Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2011 9:01 pm
- Location: Morden, London
by faqbetfair » Tue Nov 08, 2011 2:05 pm
If you click on this kind of link and register-deposit-gambling then the link generator man (rfr=666) will receive 25% of commission generated by yourself.
But not in this case I think.
Last edited by
faqbetfair on Tue Nov 08, 2011 5:38 pm, edited 1 time in total.
-

faqbetfair
-
- Posts: 2
- Joined: Tue Nov 08, 2011 12:45 pm
by pdupre1961 » Tue Nov 08, 2011 4:04 pm
Why not in this case.
-

pdupre1961
-
- Posts: 377
- Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2011 9:01 pm
- Location: Morden, London
by faqbetfair » Tue Nov 08, 2011 5:37 pm
pdupre1961 wrote:Why not in this case.
Because, to my mind, arbitrage link from Betfair site is a Betfair's own link. Does it need to pay itself?

-

faqbetfair
-
- Posts: 2
- Joined: Tue Nov 08, 2011 12:45 pm
by pdupre1961 » Tue Nov 08, 2011 8:13 pm
No, the link was from a website that suggested a possible arbitrage opportunity. With one link directly to a bookie's comparable market, for the back side of the bet.
The Betfair market (above) was for the Lay side of the bet.
I removed the actual referrer code, and replaced with 666 - as if the devil was trying to make money out of me, when the information he/she was giving me was supposed to be free!!!
So, I ask again does anyone make money out of me winning OR losing on Betfair.
Does anyone know the answer???
-

pdupre1961
-
- Posts: 377
- Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2011 9:01 pm
- Location: Morden, London
by rubysglory » Wed Nov 09, 2011 12:06 am
pdupre1961, I think that perhaps the betfair affiliates program may be what you refer to :
http://affiliates.betfair.com/page.aspx?p=1. If you have signed up after accessing betfair via a third part website, there is a good chance commission is being (has been) paid to the third party site operator.
rg
-

rubysglory
-
- Posts: 299
- Joined: Thu Nov 04, 2010 8:02 am
by rubysglory » Wed Nov 09, 2011 10:50 am
Your probably right JG. I looked at it years ago with a view to buidling my own website and then being a 'self-referrer'

Too much red tape and too many disclaimers. Have no doubt that on occasions ongoing commissions are paid however - although I do remember it was biased towards Poker and Gaming. Euler should know.
rg
-

rubysglory
-
- Posts: 299
- Joined: Thu Nov 04, 2010 8:02 am
by JollyGreen » Wed Nov 09, 2011 11:05 am
I ran several websites that were plastered in banners and referral links to Betfair. In the three years the sites were running I never received a single penny from referrals.
I queried this multiple times and it was always down to "incorrect banners" or "outdated banners" or using "incorrect codes" I gave up in the end.
What really made me laugh was the fact that if your domain name had Betfair anywhere in the title they would not pay referrals! That was clearly incorrect as they were doing the complete opposite!

-

JollyGreen
- Archangel Professional

-
- Posts: 1400
- Joined: Sat Mar 21, 2009 11:06 am
- Location: ...off his rocker!
by andyfuller » Wed Nov 09, 2011 1:53 pm
Peter had what I think was one for Betdaq on a recent blog post:
http://www.betangel.com/blog_wp/2011/10 ... sion-back/There was a guy who paid for his wedding by trading on Betfair that was a feature blogger for Betfair years ago before blogs were everywhere. I remember he said he used to make a fortune out of these refferals but that was back in the good old days.
Does anyone know what the Betdaq deal is?
-

andyfuller
- Archangel Professional

-
- Posts: 3460
- Joined: Wed Mar 25, 2009 1:23 pm
Return to General discussion
Who is online
Users browsing this forum: GranpaChook, Wyndon and 3 guests