Any Australian full time traders?

grigsy12

I am quite new to trading and was wondering if there are any full time Australian-based traders out there? I assume there must be, so do you make your living trading Australian markets, or is it a case of burning the midnight oil on the UK races?
I am wondering this because as far as I can see so far, Saturday is the only day when there is enough liquidity in the Australian markets to trade with confidence. Or am I missing something big?
Also, do you use Betfair or Betdaq?
Bet Angel
Bet Angel
Bet Angel

We have quite a few on our books, but I guess we should all do our bit to encourage them to come forward. I'll create a new aussie area. Where do you think would be the best place to put it on the forum?
grigsy

I guess under Sports Trading is as good a place as any.
How to get the Aussies on here is another matter. Perhaps a small announcement on the Bet Angel front screen might help. Don't know how much of a pain that might be though.
Zenyatta

I'm in NZ, have played the big Australian races for several years on Betfair. In most Aussie races there isn't any liquidity though, only in the big feature races - the famous three are the Caulfied Cup, Cox Plate and Melbourne Cup.

Only recently I started looking at the UK races and only recently signed up with Bet Angel for the first time. First idea I tried with an automated Excel spreadsheet on the UK races was just raking in the money non-stop all night, with a whopping edge of 27% implied! Either I got lucky, or I've hit the motherlode :D Will try the same spreadsheet for the second time tonight, so this should tell the tale.

Only problem is, you really need to be awake to over-see the betting, which means a serious lack of sleep for those in Australia and NZ betting on UK races.
ThePom