Bet Angel for newbies / Getting started : Excel Friing two bets in the market.

We were all new to Bet Angel once. Ask any question you like here and fellow forum members promise not to laugh. Betfair trading made simple.
Post Reply
Darren4019
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Apr 27, 2018 12:51 pm

Wed Jul 29, 2020 8:22 pm

Hi All,

Can anyone help.

I have created an excel spread sheet to automate dutching the horse racing markets. To do this, I have Bet Angel for Betdaq. As I understand it, once the spreadsheet is connected, all I need to do is have the work “BACK” in column L9 etc. Once Bet Angel sees BACK in column L9, Bet angel will place the bet in the market. As I also understand it, Bet Angel will only place this bet once – Bet Angel won’t fire a bet in to the market numerous time. The other day what the first day of testing. However, Bet Angel has placed the bet in the market twice.

I dutched 12 races in all (all automated) and Bet Angel placed two bets on each horse in the market on three different races.

To have the work “BACK” in column L9 for example, I use an if statement - =IF(AX11=6,"BACK",""). (AX 11 is the cell that I use to set my criteria).

Essentially, why has Bet Angel placed two bets in the market when it should have only been one? I have had a look on the forum and I am not he only one that this has happened to but I we can’t seem to get an answer as to why this is.

Thanks anyone for any help.
Cheers

AlexisMartin
Posts: 30
Joined: Thu Oct 24, 2019 8:26 pm

Wed Jul 29, 2020 9:28 pm

did the staus cell in spreadsheet say "placed"? usually the issue is once a bet gets placed the status cells needs to be cleared?

Darren4019
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Apr 27, 2018 12:51 pm

Wed Jul 29, 2020 10:39 pm

Thanks for the reply. When I looked back on the spreadsheet, the status cell did say placed and this was the case for all the races.

I thought that when there was data in the status cell, this stopped anymore bets being entered.

Cheers

User avatar
CallumPerry
Posts: 463
Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2017 5:12 pm
Location: Wolverhampton

Wed Jul 29, 2020 11:39 pm

It should stop it, I've never had a problem with double bets once I got my first sheet up and running properly. Have you checked you haven't accidentally got i.e. £4 in the stake cell where you should have £2 (double) or anything daft? Do you have a copy of the log?

Are the bets fired in super quickly almost seeming as if they arrive together or are they seconds/minutes apart? What is your refresh speed on? Any more information you can supply?

Darren4019
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Apr 27, 2018 12:51 pm

Thu Jul 30, 2020 9:45 am

Thanks for your reply. I agree - it should stop. There is obviously something that I am doing wrong - I just can't figure out what.

I can't view the logs stored in Bet Angel. When I click on view in the behaviour setting nothing appears but here's the logs from Betdaq that shows the duplicate bets all went in to the market at the exact same time.


Date Market Ref No Selection Odds Stake(£)
27/07/2020 13:06:40.423 13:55 Market Rasen- Win Market 6698105679 BACK 12 Fubar 6.10 6.49
27/07/2020 13:06:40.423 13:55 Market Rasen- Win Market 6698105661 BACK 12 Fubar 6.10 6.49
27/07/2020 13:06:40.423 13:55 Market Rasen- Win Market 6698105667 BACK 6 Normal Norman 17.50 2.29
27/07/2020 13:06:40.423 13:55 Market Rasen- Win Market 6698105687 BACK 6 Normal Norman 17.50 2.29
27/07/2020 13:06:40.423 13:55 Market Rasen- Win Market 6698105690 BACK 4 Lucky Icon 36.00 1.22
27/07/2020 13:06:40.423 13:55 Market Rasen- Win Market 6698105674 BACK 4 Lucky Icon 36.00 1.22


The refresh rate as 200 milliseconds. I had 17 sheets open so Bet Angel cycled through these sheets every 3 - 4 seconds.

I have since amemnded my "if" statement in the "L" column to say that IF AB column - the bet count column is more than 1 then do not enter BACK.

Cheers and thanks again for your help.

firlandsfarm
Posts: 1022
Joined: Sat May 03, 2014 8:20 am

Fri Jul 31, 2020 4:32 pm

Can I just check one thing … you refer to "column L9" … of course it's column L, cell 9 for the runner top of the list and cell 11 for the second runner etc. Not wanting to be pedantic but dutching two runners requires a Back command in the appropriate cell in the L column for each selection … just checking. :)

Darren4019
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Apr 27, 2018 12:51 pm

Fri Jul 31, 2020 6:00 pm

Ah, yes of course,

It’s column L, row 9 and so on. So for example, if I were dutching the top two runners, I would have BACK in cell L9 and L11.

Cheers I really appreciate the help.

firlandsfarm
Posts: 1022
Joined: Sat May 03, 2014 8:20 am

Sat Aug 01, 2020 8:59 am

OK so another stupid question … you do only have one instance of BA open and one spreadsheet, yes? I know but just trying to eliminate the too obvious to consider. Experience has taught me that it's not usually BA that's going wrong but normally something, sometimes very silly, that I have done! :)

Also, I don't know anything about the detailed workings of BA/Excel/Bf, maybe someone more knowledgeable than me can answer this … does Excel change the Status cell when the bet is sent to Bf i.e. simultaneously, or does it wait for some form of acknowledgement back from BA in which case there could be a very slight delay in setting the Status, allowing an extra bet through the gate? Just a thought. I've sometimes had problems with BA/Excel/Bf and while not proven refresh rates have been discussed within those debates. May be worth looking into that as a possible cause.

Darren4019
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Apr 27, 2018 12:51 pm

Sat Aug 01, 2020 12:26 pm

Thanks firlandsfarm, I agree. I know its something silly that I have done.

I have since made some changed and I think the problem was that I set the refresh to 200 milliseconds. This mean that Bet Angel cycled through each sheet every 5 seconds or so. I have since set the refresh rate at 1 second. Meaning each sheet is cycled through every 15 seconds or so. However, I have noticed that some sheets carry on refreshing every second. Not all sheets do this and the sheets that do seem to be at random. So essentially that I have is several sheets refreshing every 15 seconds or so and 1 or 2 sheets refreshing every second. this is what must have happened before but the sheet was refreshing every 200 milliseconds and it was this that mean that to bets when in the market.

I have no idea why some sheets done refresh the same as the rest - a problem for another day I guess.

Thanks for your help.

Cheers

Post Reply

Return to “Bet Angel for newbies / Getting started”

  • Information
  • Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests