What's an 'edge' in this? - discussion...

We were all new to Bet Angel once. Ask any question you like here and fellow forum members promise not to laugh. Betfair trading made simple.
Original-Soultrader

i've spent the last few days reading through posts in here and i often see people talking about having an 'edge'

My background is in forex trading amongst other things - I certainly had an edge for a good while in forex. But an edge in forex is pretty constrained - like on a particular instrument when X happens, then Y happens X% of the time.

On different instruments the edge either didn't work or had different parameters. Forex is complicated for sure, but each instrument is essentially it's own market with very few variables that change.

I also hear in peter's videos him talk about 'different markets' operating in different ways.

So here's the thing - from what i've seen so far (and i understand that is limited) every market is a different and unique market. You have the course, you have X number of horses, you have X number of jockeys, you have the weather, the 'going' and firmness of the course, the ages of the nags, you have time of day and the time of year and more that i haven't even considered yet.

In the forex market most of these things are fixed with the exception of time / date and economic outlook.

Finding an 'edge' in the forex market is almost impossible - having worked my way through literally thousands of systems over approaching 20 years I can assure you that there is hardly any 'edges' that consistently make money. The winners in forex are discretionary traders that have learned to read the market at the specific time they are trading using nothing but gut instinct and experience (with the exception of highly complicated algorhythmic trading) and money management

Now i come on here and see people saying they have an 'edge' in a sphere with incalculably more variables than forex compressed into smaller timeframes. This surprises me a lot.