Absolute noob question time!

We were all new to Bet Angel once. Ask any question you like here and fellow forum members promise not to laugh. Betfair trading made simple.
lavelle

Hopefully this is super simple for anyone here who knows what they're on about lol. I am self employed, and was wondering if anyone else here is too and could answer a quick question - do I need to declare betting income/put taxes on it? I've only just started playing with Betfair and it's quite the learning curve, but I'm enjoying it so far, especially with advice from here! (been lurking for some time). I normally put everything into this tax calculator to know what tax I'll be putting down - do I need to add profit from bets to this or no?

Thanks! :)
Dallas

This should help
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=10887
SeaHorseRacing

Save you the hassle. Trading on sports exchanges is completely tax free. Your very welcome :D
ShaunWhite

It's a 2 edged sword lavelle, it's not taxable but as it's also not considered as income should you ever require credit, eg a mortage, car loan etc. Even car insurance or renting property can be affected as you are 'unemployed'. I find the best approach is to say you're of 'independant means' but not everyone will swallow that unless you can also show a significant wedge in the bank.

You're also not entitled to claim Child Tax Credits or Working Tax Credits should your income fall below the threshold. You should also make sure you continue to pay class 2(?) NI contributions otherwise you'll end up without a pension.