Start a timer when Market goes INPLAY!

Discussion regarding the spreadsheet functionality of Bet Angel.
Sneeto

Hi Guys
I have just spent three days searching for the right code, without any luck :(
I am not an Expert at programming and I know this is really easy.
What I basically want the spreadsheet to do is:
When market goes INPLAY, Start the timer.
The timer should be in seconds (only showing seconds in a cell)
I am going to use this, because then I know for how long the market has gone In play, and I can place my bets. This is a strategy for football, match odds.
The timer should stop counting automatically after a period of time (seconds).
Can anybody help me with this?
Bet Angel
Bet Angel
Bet Angel

We are playing with putting the Bet Angel timer into Excel today. So you may want to wait till we have managed to do that.
Sneeto

That sounds great, thanks a lot!
Zenyatta

As far as I can see the basic Excel functions can't record values at given times (no variables), which is very annoying. The only solution as far as I can see is to resort to VBA programming.

The following simple Excel functions provide a timer giving you the time in seconds before/after the advertised off-time, the trouble is, the advertised time won't neccesserily match the real time, because events are often delayed and don't start until several minutes after advertised time start time.

Put this in cell C70: it extracts the off-time from cell B1:

=RIGHT(LEFT(B1,SEARCH(":",B1,1)+2),5)

Now, make sure cell C71 (the cell you want to use as a timer) is formatted to the 'Number' format, and put this in:

C71=(C70-C3)*86400

This simply subtracts the last refresh time (cell C3) from the off-time (cell C70) and gives you the result in seconds. The timer will show a positive number indicating seconds before the off-time, and a negative number indicating seconds after the off-time.
Sneeto

Hey Zenyatta