How to make spreadsheets more efficient

Discussion regarding the spreadsheet functionality of Bet Angel.
pgetty

Hi all

I have been working on my excel (including VBA) skills over the last year and have completed various work / personal projects and thought it would be a good challenge / next step for me to create a Betfair bot. So far I have just been experimenting with the basics but have some questions that I am not experienced enough to answer myself.

I have different complex formulas that are required at different stages

- place a back bet
- wait for back bet to be matched
- place a lay bet
- wait for lay bet to be matched

I have placed each complex formula within an if statement that determines if the complex formula needs to run based on the above stages. The logic behind this is that I am presuming that the complex formula will only run when the answer to the if statement is true therefore reducing the burden on my resources as simple if statements are being calculated rather than the more complex formulas.

Is this the case or am I better off removing the additional if statements?

Thanks
nigelk

Keep it simple, complex or "mega formulas" can create bottlenecks when performing calculations, they can also be a pain if you need to alter/add to any of the criteria in them at a later date. Don't forget that some some formulas are more resource hungry than others and I've found that the K.I.S.S. approach is always the best

Take for example a horse race

Column A

Q1 Is it a handicap? 0
Q2 Are there less than 10 runners? 1
Q3 Are the fav odds between 2 & 3? 1
Q4 Are the 2nd fav odds > 5? 1
Q5 Is it being run at Cheltenham? 1
Q6 Is it on a Saturday? 1
Q7 Is it a National Hunt race? 1
Total 6

Column B
Q1 Is it a maiden? 0
Total 6

Column C
Q1 Is it a Group Race? 1
Total 7