Trading horses correcting mistakes

A place to discuss anything.
Ergunartun10

Hi people im new to trading and iv been practicing for a while now and iv been doing quite well swing beting with a bank of around £2k
but occasionally a trade can go wrong and i end up trying to correct the mistake sometimes 3-4 times thinking it will eventually go my way.
there was a race not long ago at Kempton a horse named Zubayr a good jumps horse decent record on the flat was around 5.5 on the exchanges i thought this would win but it drifted to 8.8 pre off id backed it at 6.0 thinking it would move in and i ended up having to let this trade run in because i was so miffed at the drift.
in the end Zubayr ended up coming 2nd and traded at even money inplay which i cashed out on.
but im wondering how many times do people know their racing and use that kowledge to trade on horses or do people trade on weight of money and the market only even if they think that drift on that horse is wrong??????
and do people have to correct mistakes alot??
Do people find scalping easier then swing trading?
to75ne

trades go wrong all the time, you lay expecting the price to go out, it comes in, so you correct by scratching it. when you think you have a good idea of what the price is going to do and see a reasonable entry you go in again, get out when you think its gonna turn against you and/or scratch (correct) if you got it wrong. i always cold trade pre off ( no form etc), and i dont trade inplay at all baring a betfair feck up or of my own making.

pre off and inplay are completly different markets and need different setups etc, i personally am not suited to inplay.

edit if a jock or trainer (or combination) win 2 or 3 races, then i will take that into account as quite often any further rides / runners that card/day, often shorten up sometimnes dramatically, so i dont always cold trade just most of the time.
Ergunartun10