Do you ever get lonely ?

A place to discuss anything.
Daaniel

Trading full time is a lonely job, we all know it, we’ve all struggled with it at least at some point in our careers. I know there has been several topics on this subject but I thought it would be nice to hear other people opinions on practical steps you took that has/hasn’t worked for your so far in overcoming this damn loneliness.

I’m 30 years old, I’m in my 8th year of full-time tennis trading. I’ve been gambling since 14 years old (asking older friends to place accumulators in street shops for me) and before moving to full time trading, I had 2-3 years of part time trading. Before going full-time, I had a couple of different jobs here and there so I do know the difference between being and employee or being my own boss and I do appreciate the freedom/financial freedom. I absolutely love what I do and I’m pretty good at it as well. At this point in life I wouldn’t see myself doing something else, however every now and then the loneliness gets the better of me and I start to lose the focus and the love for ,,the game’’.

Anyway, here’s my experience on the subject and this is what has produced mix to small or no results for me:
- For a couple of months, I rented a desk in a hub incubator. A hub is a go to place for business people, entrepreneurs or freelancers working in the digital area. It all looked very promising in the beginning but it ended up frustrating me even more. Whilst meeting new people and having a chat during a coffee break is nice, it all came with a cost. On top of the monthly rent bill they wouldn’t allow me to move all my desktop PCs and monitors limiting my performance and my profits. Trading tennis means you have to sometimes work nights (when tennis moves to Australia or US) and during my night shifts there the place would be completely empty anyway. Plus, I never felt comfortable when people would stare at my monitor 😊.