Impact of trading environment on your P&L

A place to discuss anything.
JasBarrow

I'm pretty new to trading but i'm experiencing a 'problem' I really didnt expect. I'm a pretty positive guy, definitely a glass half full type, however I share a house with 2 other guys both of whom are very negative in their outlook on life and I think their constant negativity is having a detrimental effect on my positivity. By way of example when I sit down to trade I'm pretty positive, i'm by no means a great trader but I'm methodical in my approach so that ensures while I don't win huge amounts I definitely wont lose huge amounts either. However if mid way through a trading session I leave my room for a break and I talk to my housemates for 10 minutes I generally come back to my computer feeling much less positive than I started out, this then leads me to making mistakes and more worryingly I feel a kind of apathy towards trading which obviously is not good. I can even see this illustrated in my results, as I have more red races when feeling this way. I initially thought this was happening because i was breaking the rhythm by taking a break but I've since established this isnt so as the days I'm home alone and take a mid session break I come back feeling just as good as when I started out regardless of results.

I'm wondering if anybody else has experienced similiar negative emotions that were brought on by outside unfluences while trading and what you did about it?

Obviously the simple suggestion is to not interact with anybody until my trading session is done which is something I've adopted recently however I'm starting to feel this apathy at the start of trading sessions after speaking to the guys before I start trading. They're not bad guys, they're just very depressing to be around most of the time and given that I have to live with them some amount of interactivity is inevitable.