Support : Restricted Betfair Account ???????

User to User support only. For technical support visit www.betangel.com/support/
Post Reply
teambulldog
Posts: 39
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2012 9:09 pm

Tue Jan 02, 2018 4:52 pm

Hi,
Please HELP ,,,,,,
First Time Post, But Today Was Testing INPLAY AND PRE OFF And Got A Email From Betfair Saying About Restricting My Account Because MyData Usage Profile Represents That Of A Commercial User ??????
They Then Say I Need A Commercial Data Licence ?????
I Was Still On Testing Then The Market Totals Were Zero And Things Went Mad And Slowed Up Etc On Screen .....
CAN YOU PLEASE HELP AS I DONT KNOW WHAT TO DO?
THANKS
JULES

Derek27
Posts: 2229
Joined: Wed Aug 30, 2017 11:44 am
Location: UK

Tue Jan 02, 2018 4:57 pm

Hi teambulldog, welcome to the forum.

Please read the thread below, and good luck with your account.

Restricted account

marko236
Posts: 718
Joined: Fri Jul 12, 2013 11:54 am

Tue Jan 02, 2018 4:59 pm

I think it maybe time for Peter to talk to Betfair about this it seems to be happening more and more, maybe in the next update practice mode can only be used for x amount of time or markets.

User avatar
Dallas
Posts: 8131
Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2015 10:57 pm

Tue Jan 02, 2018 5:24 pm

marko236 wrote:
Tue Jan 02, 2018 4:59 pm
I think it maybe time for Peter to talk to Betfair about this it seems to be happening more and more, maybe in the next update practice mode can only be used for x amount of time or markets.
Half the problem so far is BF have never given any clear guidance on what they are prepared to accept as a 'reasonable' amount of time before they implement restrictions and so far they seem to deal with everyone on an individual ad-hoc basis

Derek27
Posts: 2229
Joined: Wed Aug 30, 2017 11:44 am
Location: UK

Tue Jan 02, 2018 5:34 pm

marko236 wrote:
Tue Jan 02, 2018 4:59 pm
I think it maybe time for Peter to talk to Betfair about this it seems to be happening more and more, maybe in the next update practice mode can only be used for x amount of time or markets.
The Bet Angel user guide does give a clear warning to place occasional real bets to avoid account restriction, though as Dallas says, Betfair fail to provide any clear rules, as they do with most aspects of the exchange.

Practice Mode

User avatar
ShaunWhite
Posts: 3220
Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2016 3:42 am

Tue Jan 02, 2018 6:21 pm

Derek27 wrote:
Tue Jan 02, 2018 5:34 pm
marko236 wrote:
Tue Jan 02, 2018 4:59 pm
I think it maybe time for Peter to talk to Betfair about this it seems to be happening more and more, maybe in the next update practice mode can only be used for x amount of time or markets.
The Bet Angel user guide does give a clear warning to place occasional real bets to avoid account restriction, though as Dallas says, Betfair fail to provide any clear rules, as they do with most aspects of the exchange.

Practice Mode
I don't think red underlined warnings in the manual are doing the job... BA should send a singing telegram to each new user to explain it. If only we knew someone who had an appropriate little outfit who can do the job.....ding!

User avatar
ruthlessimon
Posts: 1226
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2016 3:54 pm

Tue Jan 02, 2018 6:44 pm

Out of interest (because this could help others facing a similar scenario). How would you answer the following questions?:

Do you have a funded BF account?
Do you place semi-regular trades?

There's a guy I know who's never had problems (yet), who's been on the sim longer than a yr. I recently asked them a similar set of questions:

"Yes, £1000+. I aim to trade very short football matches off every other day. i.e. PSG vs Bordeaux. PSG (or any strong fav) will be very short i.e 1.25, but importantly has 0 volatility. I place £5 either side for a 5p loss. Have been on the sim since around 2015, never had any issues - apart from not getting off sim :lol: "

If you followed a similar pattern/characteristics - I might warn the guy - as BF could be right up his arse soon!!

marko236
Posts: 718
Joined: Fri Jul 12, 2013 11:54 am

Tue Jan 02, 2018 6:56 pm

teambulldog wrote:
Tue Jan 02, 2018 4:52 pm
Hi,
Please HELP ,,,,,,
First Time Post, But Today Was Testing INPLAY AND PRE OFF And Got A Email From Betfair Saying About Restricting My Account Because MyData Usage Profile Represents That Of A Commercial User ??????
They Then Say I Need A Commercial Data Licence ?????
I Was Still On Testing Then The Market Totals Were Zero And Things Went Mad And Slowed Up Etc On Screen .....
CAN YOU PLEASE HELP AS I DONT KNOW WHAT TO DO?
THANKS
JULES
I think any commercial user would know they would need a licence to get data and would either pay the licence or avoid it by placing bets on the exchange, Betfair wont like people using practice mode alot because they dont make money which is fair enough but there should be away of stopping people getting accounts restricted and being forced to pay a fee.

teambulldog
Posts: 39
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2012 9:09 pm

Tue Jan 02, 2018 8:59 pm

So Do I Give In A PAY For A Licence ????
Any Help Please
Thanks
Jules

User avatar
Dallas
Posts: 8131
Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2015 10:57 pm

Tue Jan 02, 2018 9:07 pm

teambulldog wrote:
Tue Jan 02, 2018 8:59 pm
So Do I Give In A PAY For A Licence ????
Any Help Please
Thanks
Jules
If you contact them by raising a ticket from here
https://developer.betfair.com/support/

and plead ignorance / explain you were unaware you were doing anything wrong and that you were using practice mode whilst getting familiar with the software's features but from now on you will be pacing live bets they will usually lift the restriction. They just want to know they will be earning some money from your activity and not just putting a strain on there severs whilst they get nothing from it

Post Reply

Return to “Support”

  • Information
  • Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests