Give Up?

Trading is often about how to take the appropriate risk without exposing yourself to very human flaws.
fditapaf

I have been trading for over a year now. I can trade profitably with discipline day in day out. And here lies the problem "With discipline". Even after a year I find it impossible to stop myself deviating away from standard pre-market trading (Horses) where I can make a steady decent income. Then for whatever reason I just slip into a reckless trade which triggers more reckless behaviour. I then take a break for a few days a reset and come back.

I currently have a well paid job which means I can afford the slip ups. But I genuinely want to do this full time and I have spent 1000's of hours learning and know if I can crack the discipline issue then I can do this for a living. This is 100% what I want to do. But after another account blow up I'm again questioning do I have the correct mentality to crack this.

I would really like to hear from anyone who has conquered this and what helped them.
Derek27

You're use of the word 'reckless' has got me thinking. I consider myself a well-disciplined trader, never blow banks, let trades go in-play, suffer heavy losses or do anything really daft these days. But once in a while I have a string of losses in a session that start to add up, which I could put down to silly mistakes like lack of concentration/distraction, over staking, overconfidence, possibly allowing previous losses to affect the way I trade, all of which can be considered reckless trading.

This subject has been touched upon a few times on this forum, but my best remedy is to take a break, do the shopping or any other tasks, preferably away from my desk.

Perhaps it would help to have shorter sessions, quality over quantity, outlining your major mistakes and reminding yourself of them before each session so they're fresh in the memory?