Races on time

The sport of kings.
Tobedotty

Hi all,

I've been digging through some data and I think I may have cocked something up but I'm looking to see if it's my data, or if this is actually the case.

My data is telling me that the overwhelming majority of races in UK/IE go off late. I make that 90% of races go off at least 4.5 minutes late and 50% go off over 7 minutes late, with 10% being over 11.5 minutes late. My data doesn't contain a single race that started early.

I'm a little new to this so I'm looking to do a sanity check my data and I'm asking you lot.

So tell me: Does this make sense?
Euler

Very few races go off on time, but the last time I measured it the average off time was about 90 seconds past post time. So your numbers look a bit out.
Derek27

A race should never go off early for betting reasons - bookies may still be taking bets until the off time.
Tobedotty

Ok thanks I found my mistake.

I'll share my stats again for people who are curious so that this post isn't a total waste of time for everyone:

90% of races are at least 20 seconds late minimum.

50% of races are at least 75 seconds late.

10% of races are 3.5 minutes late or more.

I only have 1 race in my sample (approx. 1000 races) going off early.
Tobedotty

Derek27 wrote:
Wed Apr 18, 2018 5:33 pm
A race should never go off early for betting reasons - bookies may still be taking bets until the off time.
Thanks Derek, this makes sense.

Does anyone know if betfair have ever voided bets on a race starting early?
to75ne

Tobedotty wrote:
Wed Apr 18, 2018 5:35 pm
Derek27 wrote:
Wed Apr 18, 2018 5:33 pm
Thanks Derek, this makes sense.

Does anyone know if betfair have ever voided bets on a race starting early?
no
spreadbetting