Becoming a student of the market

The sport of kings.
arbitrage16

I’ve been trading for a couple of years and for the last 14 months that has been 6 days a week, afternoons and evenings. I only trade horse racing, and do a mixture of pre-race trading - for which I attended a very useful course - and in-running trading for which I use a reputable service. I am of the opinion that trading is 80% mindset, and focus a lot of my reading time on sports psychology and trading psychology.

About 6 months ago I realised that the perspective I have on the market is not sufficiently in-depth to satisfy my curiosity and have been attending to that side of my understanding. Part of that exploration has been surveying this forum.

The nature of this forum, whilst very useful, means that much of that useful information and aha moments that people have shared are lost in posts from way back when. The aim of this post is to invite members who are willing to impart pieces of knowledge, further thoughts or pose questions for other members to consider as we all seek to become students of the market.

As Mr Webb has alluded to a number of times, there is no point in spoon-feeding an edge, because simply people don’t learn in that way, but if more experienced traders are willing to share insight and learning I believe this thread could become a fruitful knowledge base. Or not, but let’s find out.
napshnap

It's a very competitive area.
The really precious technically exact and correct strategies and advices are very rare, cause obviously technically advanced users can easily replicate and integrate it with their boats and destroy edge or make it less profitable. But therу are still few altruists who sometimes give clear instructions (not motivational bullshit).
So don't wait till someone will share it with you. Do your own research, check users profile and posts history, maybe offer them money for their advices.
iambic_pentameter