A bit of reassurance.... please

The sport of kings.
cookyweb

Hi all,

I’ve been trading the pre race horse markets for around 8 months now, but I’m getting a little frustrated.

I’m going through a phase now (which I’ve done many times) where I feel like I’m on completely the wrong track.

When I feel like that I hit the forums and YouTube and the information makes me feel worse lol

When people talk about an edge, and trading without an edge is silly, what does that mean? I don’t feel like I have an edge as such, I just try to read the market and get an understanding of where the prices are going... but is that an edge, or should I be looking for something in particular, a set of circumstances as such?

I tend to focus mainly on trying to spot a weak horse that will drift as I seem better at that.

There’s sooo many posts where newbies ask about edges, I feel like I’ve read them all, but I just feel a little lost at the moment

Any help is hugely appreciated

Cookyweb
Jukebox

cookyweb wrote:
Tue Aug 21, 2018 9:15 pm
Hi all,
I don’t feel like I have an edge as such, I just try to read the market and get an understanding of where the prices are going... but is that an edge
It might be an edge if your "reading" and "understanding" means you can determine where a price is going correctly often enough and act on it in time. After eight months of watching the markets it can't be a complete mystery.

Do some record keeping

Are you measuring yourself in any way? Are you getting better?

You say you're better at spotting a horse that will drift - so you must think you have recognized some signs- why not make that your edge - become one of the best at spotting them. Check your progress. If you are better than random you have an edge.
cookyweb

Thank you very much for the reply, I’ve been poor at record keeping so I really need to do that.

And try to see how well I do and if I do better in certain race types?