Horse race venues, how big of a difference does it make?

The sport of kings.
johnsheppard

Hiya guys,

I am a noob, I am exploring algotrading (looong way to go).... I will likely be niching down to horse racing and plotting out a database with all the track data in it. I was wondering, can anyone tell me is this business so competitive that I would need to analyse the characteristics of algotrades depending on the shape of the race track?

For example. A lay the field strategy, I would presume would be more successful on tracks that have a big bend at the end and a short straight? (Where the regular joe punter has little time to manage their excitement or perhaps where there is likely to be lots of changes of leads (or at least non obvious winners))...

Say for example... Flemington in Australia;
https://www.racenet.com.au/tracks/vic/flemington

I would guess it is not a good track for lay the field because the straight at the end is too long?

Thank you kindly for any thoughts
John
Wildly

Leader dominated tracks are more likely to have short straights and be difficult to lay multiple runners at short price.
johnsheppard

Wildly wrote:
Tue Feb 26, 2019 4:04 am
Leader dominated tracks are more likely to have short straights and be difficult to lay multiple runners at short price.
ahh ic, so I had it back to front. Makes sense. In the process of my thoughts yesterday, I figured that it probably isn't neceessary to try and model success based on shape of track. It's just a matter of looking at the numbers/backdata etc...

Starting to realise that everything is in the numbers, instead of trying to model fundamental stuff....at least I think...still learning...

Thank you kindly
Euler

Cutting data by course and distance can have a demonstrably positive effect on any strategy.
Derek27

johnsheppard wrote:
Tue Feb 26, 2019 8:10 pm
Wildly wrote:
Tue Feb 26, 2019 4:04 am