Betting to Trading

The sport of kings.
Xeres

Hi All,

over the last few years I have developed a very good machine learning model to predict the outcome of horse races. Using a few simple rules for dutching it has over 50% strike rate over all UK races in the last 18 months. Problem is my wife hates gambling, so while I have used it myself I have mostly paper traded in the hope that I could convince her that it works.

Anyway I thought ok so if I trade, it's not the same as 'betting' and she seems warmer to this idea. I am totally new to trading, my mind has been firmly fixed on picking a winner.

My question is does anyone use dutching as a trading strategy and if not do you think it's possible to turn what I have into one?
ANGELS15

I think it may be possible for it to be profitable providing you've managed to test it on a large enough sample over the 18 months. I've been doing something similar for the last 10 years. In my case I use various indicators to select 5-6 runners against the field with a minimum/maximum field size. Typically the selections may be 3rd/ 4th in the betting order with 2 or 3 outsiders which I believe could outrun their odds.

In fairness I never recorded the results but I've been doing it successfully for so long that I'm confident in the method.

You may want to look at the Bet Angel dutching videos on youtube. You can certainly Dutch the runners at the time of the race using the Dutching tool. In my case I wanted to automate it by nominating the runners in advance. However in the automation file you can only nominate 2 runners by name unless you open up more instances of Bet Angel. I did ask if there was any way to nominate 4/5 runners by name using other means but no one could answer that one. I've therefore tended to do it manually.

If you want to go ahead with it just test it using £2 stakes.

Good luck
Derek27

Just place bets as you desire, lay a penny at 1.01 so you can tell the wife that you're trading. 8-)
Xeres