How to analyse .tar file from Betfair

Football, Soccer - whatever you call it. It is the beautiful game.
ZeroCounty

Hello,

I have downloaded a .tar file from Betfair regarding Football data of last month. I want to analyze it to formulate a viable strategy. When i unzipped the file i could find a lot of folders leading to .bz2 files. I am new to this and hence have no idea on how to use this files.

I know there are few users like megarain who are well versed in this type of issue.

I do not have experience in coding but i can follow the instructions. I would appreciate if someone can provide me detailed assistance in relation to this.

Thank you.
megarain

Hiya,

Nice first post !!

You are right, in that I am doing a bunch of work in this area.

Let me explain my thinking, and what I hope is going to happen.

The Betfair Historical data website, allows registered users, who have paid some commission, to access three types of data :

Free event data, with time stamps of every minute.

1 sec event data, which ranges in price, but on avg is about £75 per month of archive, per sport.

Millisec data, which ranges in prices, but on avg, is maybe £150 per month, per sport.

The process to get what data you want, is a little poorly explained on the website, but, once you have experimented, its now fairly easy, to say, download, the sample data, for all games, Pakistan played at cricket, for the last 2 yrs.

This file, (any of the 3 options), comes as a tar file, which needs to be uncompressed, and then fed into a database.

I spent a bunch of money, building a tool, which automatically takes the tar file, and allows u to import it to a SQL database. From there, if u have the skills in SQL, u can refine it a bit, and then maybe export the file to excel, to further play with.

Missing from this process, is a quick and easy way, to view a graph of the data.