Do I have a genuine edge or is this just statistical variance?

Football, Soccer - whatever you call it. It is the beautiful game.
Speculator_3

For about 3-4 months, I have been experimenting (paper trading) with a very specific trading strategy. To be more precise, it's not even "trading" in the strict sense of the word. In a nutshell, my strategy consists of entering a market when a certain event occurs, REGARDLESS OF ODDS AT THE TIME, and keeping my position open till the final whistle. So it's a "bet" in that sense.

Over this time period, I have tested it on over 1800 football matches in total, across various leagues and competitions in the world - from Premier League to some obscure leagues in Africa. My calculations show that I'd be in a healthy profit over 1800 matches. Further, for the last 350 matches (out of those 1800), I started trading with actual money - placing very small stakes, and this has generated a positive return so far.

What is strange to me, is that this strategy seems to apply to vast, vast majority of the games where these certain conditions occur. Essentially, these 1800 matches were chosen almost at random by me (just as long as above mentioned event happens), more or less regardless of inplay stats and deemed relative strength of the teams, etc.

It seems that I am systematically beating the market odds - but we all know that betfair is very efficient for the most part.

So my question is: how do I know if I have genuinely stumbled upon an edge that gives +EV? Or is my success just a result of statistical variance and if I kept up this experiment for longer, say 10,000 matches, it would all average out and my net profit / loss would come close to 0?

Thank you.
Darkpond1967

Your post begs the question, what is the specific event? Multiple people testing your theory would speed up the process of determining whether you have indeed found a genuine edge or it is just "statistical variance".
spreadbetting