what about Elo ratings?

Football, Soccer - whatever you call it. It is the beautiful game.
nivi7

so i create this thread to talk about Elo raings
i recently heard of this term and i m curious how it can apply on making profits on sport betting
for now i know nothing about it so this thread will have the form of diary mostly with me posting my knew knowledge
and questions and hopefully answers from people who are familiar with it
nivi7

here is the definition from Wikipedia
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Elo_rating_system
Derek27

My brother's a statistician and although he uses more sophisticated software models for betting on football, I believe he has used ELO for premiership football in the past and said they are quite useful. I didn't realise it actually predicts probabilities of outcomes, it would be really cool if they are near accurate. :)
crispi

I've been using ELO Ratings for many years in other sports spheres than betting and, as long as the two parameters (s-curve & k factor) are set correctly, and the Initial Rating are reasonably accurate, then ELO is a good indicator of future performance. If these are not set correctly, they are a waste of time. You have to be fairly confident that the "administrator" who is operating the Ratings knows what they are doing.

At the risk of appearing to be an Anorak, these Rating were devised by Pofessor Arpad Elo (a Hungarian born, American based, mathematician) in the 1960's for the Interenational Chess Federation to rate the "Grand Masters".

Since then other, more sophisticated Rating systems have been devised, but Elo forms the basis of most of them.
Derek27

crispi wrote:
Mon Jul 22, 2019 9:47 pm