Over-Round

We were all new to Bet Angel once. Ask any question you like here and fellow forum members promise not to laugh. Betfair trading made simple.
brunty122

Hi,

I have just been bouncing a few ideas around in my head and just wanted to ask a question. I am quite new to this as well so it could just be (and probably is) not even possible or doesn't make sense haha. I wanted to know if you could trade the Over-round. For example, If the back side is around 108% could you not back all the runners and if it comes down to 102% lay all the runners? In my head this seems to make sense although maybe the change in odds will be so small you will not make a profit? Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks
weemac

When the back side is 108%, backing all runners gives you an instant guaranteed 8% loss.

However, I think i know what you meant. When the back side is 108% you need backers to take your offer-to-lay prices, which is most unlikely, unless just one of your prices is 'wrong', in which case you'll lay only that runner which then shortens, leaving you in a loss.

Your idea hasn't really worked since mid/late-2000, when I used to input Ladbrokes early prices onto betfair overnight and would wake up to find half of them had been laid.

Seventeen years on, that doesn't work any more.
Freepunt

An interesting stat wiould be to know what the average book is when you have the highest price of each horse before the off,
brunty122

Thanks for the replies :)

Just been thinking about it and i think i got it wrong in my original post :roll: .

If the Over-round was very near 100% for example 100.6% the odds for all the horses on average would be higher and offering better value than if the book percentage was 108%.

If you were to back all horses when the book percentage was very low then, if it drifted to say 108% the odds for all the horses would be lower on average so you lay all horses.

Hope that makes more sense (If any!) :lol:
brunty122

Anyone?
spreadbetting