Suggestions : Clearing the Bet Status Cells in Excel

Help improve Bet Angel.
Post Reply
firlandsfarm
Posts: 1018
Joined: Sat May 03, 2014 8:20 am

Tue May 19, 2020 10:57 am

REQUEST:
Whenever the Market linked to an Excel worksheet changes there should be an option to reset the worksheet clearing all residue data from the previous Market.

REASONING:
Yes, I know it's (supposed to be) possible to clear the cells using VBA but I can never get it to work and after 3 postings in the Excel forum I'm no closer to the solution! :(
viewtopic.php?f=19&t=21026
viewtopic.php?f=19&t=20947
viewtopic.php?f=19&t=19957)

All I want to do is clear the spreadsheet of the previous race/runner data when the market changes. Forum members have been very helpful in trying to help but as yet without success. :(

I can understand that you want to protect people from shooting 100's of unintentional bets into the market by accident but I cannot understand why you should think that someone would want to carry over the Bet Status (and other runner specific cells) from an old redundant market to a new active market. And if anyone wants to do so then why not have a checkbox that gives the option … "Do you want to clear the workheet when the market changes … Yes/No". This would only apply at change of Market so the risk is only for 1 bet for each selection because the "PLACED" protection would still apply.

Many (me included) come to BA as competent Excel users but have never needed to resort to VBA until exploring BA. As an immediate fix why not post a subroutine to achieve this that people can download and install into their worksheets if required.

Atho55
Posts: 342
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2015 1:37 pm

Tue May 19, 2020 11:12 am

BA predictably silent on the subject within the forum but active in promotion on Twitter...

Screenshot_1.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

firlandsfarm
Posts: 1018
Joined: Sat May 03, 2014 8:20 am

Tue May 19, 2020 11:27 am

Atho55 wrote:
Tue May 19, 2020 11:12 am
BA predictably silent on the subject within the forum but active in promotion on Twitter...
Thanks for your support Atho, the more it's referred to as "automatic" the more this is a software bug. Without such a facility the extent of it's ability to automate is for 1 bet per selection row per session! and if you are a Favourite Better (always wagering on the top row) it means just one bet per session!

Atho55
Posts: 342
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2015 1:37 pm

Tue May 19, 2020 11:57 am

Having to be proficient in VBA should not be a "must have" to be able to use the Excel interface IMHO. This issue has been rumbling on for years and whilst the Forum provide numerous solutions, again IMHO, the software provider BA should be providing the solution.

I find BA`s silence on this more annoying than anything as usually they add a 12d worth on most subjects which is both informative and refreshing.

sa7med
Posts: 768
Joined: Thu May 18, 2017 8:01 am

Tue May 19, 2020 12:57 pm

The whole point of Excel is so that you can customize it the way you want. There are several different snippets of code out there that can achieve a clear status and several users have pointed you in the right direction. A few people have taken the time to help you get your specific demands accomplished. I think it's a bit unreasonable for you to expect there to be some implementation out there which adresses specifically the way you want it. I had zero experience in coding when I managed to sort it out for myself in the way that I wanted. You don't have to be proficient, all it takes is a little patience and research and thought. It's really not something to kick up a fuss over. If you can't achieve it for yourself find a developer to do it for you for 10 quid.

firlandsfarm
Posts: 1018
Joined: Sat May 03, 2014 8:20 am

Tue May 19, 2020 1:31 pm

sa7med wrote:
Tue May 19, 2020 12:57 pm
The whole point of Excel is so that you can customize it the way you want. There are several different snippets of code out there that can achieve a clear status and several users have pointed you in the right direction. A few people have taken the time to help you get your specific demands accomplished. I think it's a bit unreasonable for you to expect there to be some implementation out there which adresses specifically the way you want it. I had zero experience in coding when I managed to sort it out for myself in the way that I wanted. You don't have to be proficient, all it takes is a little patience and research and thought. It's really not something to kick up a fuss over. If you can't achieve it for yourself find a developer to do it for you for 10 quid.
I understand the point of VBA and customisation but I'm afraid we are just going to have to disagree over what is a customisation and what is a fundamental omission! To me it's like having a driverless car that will take you to your destination but to get back home you need to know how to re-code the navigation software! I fully appreciate the help I have been offered and have thanked people for their assistance and just because I think such a fundamental facility should be incorporated in the software does not mean I am not working on trying to get it to work but so far nothing suggested has done the trick. And I don't see what is "specific" about my "demands" (I would prefer requests) … Anyone and everyone who uses BA/Excel has to clear down the runner cells whenever the market changes, I see that as fundamental, not specific. I have given it lots of patience, research and thought … I have done so 3 times and I'm not kicking up a fuss … this is a section on the forum asking for suggestions, that is what I have submitted, a suggestion. I have made the suggestion and given my reasons, I'm sorry if you think that is making a fuss, another thing we will just have to disagree on.

Atho55
Posts: 342
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2015 1:37 pm

Tue May 19, 2020 1:39 pm

VBA Excel
Featured snippet from the web
VBA (Visual Basic for Applications) is the programming language of Excel and other Office programs.

As described above, I have no desire to learn programming to provide a solution for something that has needed sorting for 10 years.

It seems you have a solution but could not bring yourself to post a fully functioning worksheet to kill this issue once and for all. It would be very generous of you and kindly received by many over the next few years but does not alter the fact that the software provider, again IMHO, should be providing the solution that is compatible and has been tested within the platform it is to be used in conjunction with. My 12d worth.

Firlands can obviously type faster...

sa7med
Posts: 768
Joined: Thu May 18, 2017 8:01 am

Tue May 19, 2020 1:44 pm

It's just that there's 1000s of ways to implement it under many different conditions and you're asking for it to be done the way you want it. If you upload a version of your excel sheet and describe in steps exactly what you want to be done with it I can have a go.

Bet Angel
Bet Angel
Bet Angel
Posts: 3766
Joined: Tue Apr 14, 2009 3:47 pm

Tue May 19, 2020 2:35 pm

sa7med wrote:
Tue May 19, 2020 1:44 pm
It's just that there's 1000s of ways to implement it under many different conditions and you're asking for it to be done the way you want it.
Spot on. We occasionally have requests for cell clearing into support and, when clarified, every request is different.

The idea of the green coloured cells in Excel is that they can be populated with customer's own formulae - if those cells were cleared when switching markets then all the formulae would be wiped out too. So you'd create a situation where the spreadsheet required manual intervention on each market, or required VBA code to populate it (in which case why not also use VBA to clear it exactly as required).
Some ask for just the status column to be wiped when switching markets, but that would cause any betting commands left in columns L/M/N to trigger immediately when given a market. That may suit a few people, but certainly not everyone, and you'd think that Automation Rules could do the same without even bothering with Excel for simple scenarios like that. Others ask for Status and Odds to be cleared, but not Stake. And I'm sure there must be some poeple that want Stake cleared but not Odds!

We're happy to take a look at auto-clearing if we can have a consensus as to how it should work, but we're yet to see more than a few people that want the same behaviour. Normally offering a solution like this, just moves the problem somewhere else until VBA is the only solution. Excel is wonderful with VBA, but limited without it.

sa7med
Posts: 768
Joined: Thu May 18, 2017 8:01 am

Tue May 19, 2020 2:39 pm

Bet Angel wrote:
Tue May 19, 2020 2:35 pm
sa7med wrote:
Tue May 19, 2020 1:44 pm
It's just that there's 1000s of ways to implement it under many different conditions and you're asking for it to be done the way you want it.
Spot on. We occasionally have requests for cell clearing into support and, when clarified, every request is different.

The idea of the green coloured cells in Excel is that they can be populated with customer's own formulae - if those cells were cleared when switching markets then all the formulae would be wiped out too. So you'd create a situation where the spreadsheet required manual intervention on each market, or required VBA code to populate it (in which case why not also use VBA to clear it exactly as required).
Some ask for just the status column to be wiped when switching markets, but that would cause any betting commands left in columns L/M/N to trigger immediately when given a market. That may suit a few people, but certainly not everyone, and you'd think that Automation Rules could do the same without even bothering with Excel for simple scenarios like that. Others ask for Status and Odds to be cleared, but not Stake. And I'm sure there must be some poeple that want Stake cleared but not Odds!

We're happy to take a look at auto-clearing if we can have a consensus as to how it should work, but we're yet to see more than a few people that want the same behaviour. Normally offering a solution like this, just moves the problem somewhere else until VBA is the only solution. Excel is wonderful with VBA, but limited without it.
Perhaps there could be an automation rule to clear them in guardian so that people can set up their own rules for clearing. Just a thought

Post Reply

Return to “Suggestions”

  • Information
  • Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest