Financial Trading

Long, short, Bitcoin, forex - Plenty of alternate market disuccsion.
superfrank

I'm a fulltime pre-race trader, but enjoy financial trading (which I consider a hobby atm). I'm interested to know how many other Betfair traders trade financial markets, and what markets they trade, and what companies/methods they use...

I've done spread betting for many years (mainly IG index), but the problem is that most markets are untradeable because of the size of the spread - making transaction costs too large to have a realistic chance of making profits. There are exceptions (oil, major forex pairs and major indexes). The other problem is that if you make decent money your a/c will eventually get closed.

I recently started trading oil via ETFs which has been quite successful (the transaction costs are relatively small because the spreads are tight, and the dealing costs don't hurt when trading in larger amounts). The benefits are unlimited liquidity and no problem with accounts getting closed!

I'm interested to know what financial trading others Betfair traders do, and where they find value...

PS. I recently opened an FXPro account because I suspect it may be better value than spread betting, but it's far more complicated - does it work out as better value than with spread betting?

Regards.
Krzysztof

I recently started to trade futures markets (special thanks to jimrobo which pointed these markets some time ago). When I started I was facinated with the DAX (FDAX to be correct). I also watch Bund (FGBL). All german. You can find some vids on youtube (just type: scalping the dax). I use Velocity Futures, they allow You to use X_trader platform (which has very similar interface to betangel, because it's actually ladder interface - it is called MD trader) for free. Tranaction costs are really low and there is no spread, feels almost like betfair.
jimrobo

Hi guys,