Bet Angel - Servants : Place stop loss at original entry servant

Servants, just tap your bell to call them.
User avatar
Dallas
Posts: 9538
Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2015 10:57 pm
Contact:

Mon Mar 12, 2018 9:59 am

ricardodeano wrote:
Mon Mar 12, 2018 9:11 am
Any luck with this @Dallas ?
tbh I did forget about it so not yet had a proper play about, I did have more of a think about it and I don't think its going to be as easy as I first though, for the reasons in my post a few above.
Getting it to exit a scratch is straightforward, identifying the exact entry point is a little more difficult especially without the option of setting a signal on the entry odds (which would, of course, make it straightforward).
The best workaround would maybe be if you could identify the approx profit you would still have at your entry odds after the first offset is matched then use that as your exit P/L

ricardodeano
Posts: 149
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2015 2:03 pm

Mon Mar 12, 2018 10:53 am

Ok doke - yeah I think it might be the case of "getting out when second one isn't matched and profit is £x" - I'll have a play and try and find a sweet spot.

ricardodeano
Posts: 149
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2015 2:03 pm

Mon Apr 16, 2018 1:44 pm

Hello Dallas - so the new stored values then. Surely hat can be used to fulfil these requirements? I'm just not sure how the calculation for the stop loss would work!

User avatar
Dallas
Posts: 9538
Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2015 10:57 pm
Contact:

Mon Apr 16, 2018 1:54 pm

ricardodeano wrote:
Mon Apr 16, 2018 1:44 pm
Hello Dallas - so the new stored values then. Surely hat can be used to fulfil these requirements? I'm just not sure how the calculation for the stop loss would work!
Yes this can now be done :D

When you start your servant (assuming it uses servant context price) on the new 'Stored value' tab store the servant context price (and give it a name).

Then add a close trade on selection rule with a stored value condition that
Selections LTP is equal to or less than

The 'stored value' named (whatever you called it above)

Then add a second condition so it can identify when your first offset is matched, ie you could use a matched bets amount or number matched bets


Anything not clear post back

ricardodeano
Posts: 149
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2015 2:03 pm

Mon Apr 16, 2018 1:56 pm

Yes that should be pretty easy now. Excellent stuff! Thanks Dallas and the BA team.

Laugro1968
Posts: 79
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2016 12:04 pm

Thu Apr 19, 2018 11:48 am

Hello Dallas,

Following up on this topic and with the new stored value capacity in the new BA version, This is what I'm trying to achieve:

1. I'd like an entry point (say a back bet) to be stored on any runner
2. If the market moves 3 ticks against me, I'd like to lay that runner for 33% of my initial back bet
3. If the market moves another 3 more ticks away (6 ticks away from my back bet), lay another 33%
4. If the market continue its move against me for yet another 3 ticks, close my position on this runner by greening (redding) the remaining amount.

I already have a servant storing and sharing the context price of the back bet.
Would I need an additional automation file to implement the above? Or could the same servant handle this stepwise stoploss itself?

Thank you,
Laurent

User avatar
Dallas
Posts: 9538
Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2015 10:57 pm
Contact:

Thu Apr 19, 2018 12:05 pm

Laugro1968 wrote:
Thu Apr 19, 2018 11:48 am
Hello Dallas,

Following up on this topic and with the new stored value capacity in the new BA version, This is what I'm trying to achieve:

1. I'd like an entry point (say a back bet) to be stored on any runner
2. If the market moves 3 ticks against me, I'd like to lay that runner for 33% of my initial back bet
3. If the market moves another 3 more ticks away (6 ticks away from my back bet), lay another 33%
4. If the market continue its move against me for yet another 3 ticks, close my position on this runner by greening (redding) the remaining amount.

I already have a servant storing and sharing the context price of the back bet.
Would I need an additional automation file to implement the above? Or could the same servant handle this stepwise stoploss itself?

Thank you,
Laurent

It could be done with the same servant, you just need a lay bet rule that uses 'Percentage of context stake' with a 'Relative odds condition' to test the price has moved 3 ticks from your 'context price' (entry).
Then another one of those but with 6 ticks on your relative odds condition
Then another but this time a close trade on selection which uses 9 ticks

That should do it

Laugro1968
Posts: 79
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2016 12:04 pm

Thu Apr 19, 2018 12:09 pm

Thank you! Will try!:)

Regards,
Laurent

simonv74
Posts: 48
Joined: Wed Aug 30, 2017 5:47 pm

Fri Apr 20, 2018 3:54 pm

Something I could do with is the ability for a safety servant to close the trade if the loss hits a % of the net stake in the market, so if I'm progressively adding stakes I don't want various stop loss positions in the ladder, just a red line that can't be crossed.

Dallas, is that possible?

Post Reply

Return to “Bet Angel - Servants”

  • Information
  • Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests