Sample size question

Football, Soccer - whatever you call it. It is the beautiful game.
Pinocchio

Hi,

im a pro poker player who is having a go at betangle and trading on football matches to see if i can make any cash.

I have sort of developed a betting system and i started testing it yesterday. From what i can work out it is +ev (but im prob wrong) and should get a ROI of 10-15%. So far im hitting 33% ROI but im prob running hot.

what im wondering is what sample size do i need to get an accurate idea of the systems ROI? i was thinking around 100, any ideas...?

Ty
MarkWraith

Funnily enough I'm a poker player as well.

As posed your question is unanswerable because the sample size needed to reasonably determine population EV depends on the standard deviation of the sample.

That is, you have observed some data with an EV of +33%. Imagine now that the s.d. of this data was zero - every trial, you get a return of 33%. That would be akin to having a system that has a guaranteed 100% success rate of picking winners priced at 1.33.

Conversely, your system might give you a method of picking winners priced at 1000 correctly one time in 666.

The first system needs a very small sample to determine it's EV - zero trials. The second system needs a very large sample (because you could easily have never have picked a winner after 1000 races even if your system wins in the 'long run')

If you provide the average odds backed at, and the EV, we can then estimate a confidence interval. There are a few other assumptions needed but can't be bothered to explain them right now.

Suppose our average odds backed at are p, and we always use the same stake, say '1 unit' (it's just a scaling factor, if you bet £100 then £100 is '1 unit').

If we win, we gain p-1 units. If we lose, we lose 1 unit. If we win q percent of the time, then our EV in units is:

q(p-1) - (1-q)

You have told us that from your sample, this comes out to be 0.33

q(p-1) - (1-q) = 0.33