Football - knowing the CURRENT SCORE

sibur

Trading Football is often thwarted because you don't know the actual current score within Guardian. Unfortunately the Betfair API doesn't provide this information - and for the life of me I don't know why, considering they know it and display it in their UI. Therefore we are left to guestimate it by using various trickery monitoring odds changes and incrementing counters. I've seen a few solutions in this forum but they are a bit flaky, I have observed, because they rely on odds moving and sometimes odds don't move in the same way. The problem is compounded with the introduction of VAR because a lot of goals get credited and then later, chalked off. Trying to contend with this is a problem. These solutions do work but not all the time and I am loathed to stake real money on them because they do get it wrong - quite a lot.

I am a professional software developer and have used the Betfair API for many years and always had a notion on how to tackle this using the API and never got round to it. Last year I started using BetAngel for my betting/trading.

On a side note I would like to say that BA and Guardian is an awesome piece of technology. The time it takes me to develop a strategy using the API was long and arduous - it might take several days to try something out, only to discover it was a non-starter and I was back to square one. With Guardian I can knock something up in a matter of minutes - try it out and determine if it's got legs. I think what Peter Webb has created (with his team) is a miracle.

So, I have finally got round to looking at determining the current live score. Please find the BAF file below. It requires the Correct Score Market to be selected. It works by getting the lay odds of each selection and then finding out which selections arte no longer active. These selections tend to show lay odds as empty or high numbers 990 and beyond.